PDA

View Full Version : SOTA

Panda_Peake
08-11-2013, 11:02
I am currently an Airborne 11B SSG in a deactivating unit. I reenlisted for 35P (Arabic) but can't go to DLI because EFMP cannot support my son (ADHD, nothing big but the system sucks). I do have a very good working knowledge of French and I am studying for the DLPT to circumvent DLI and go to a group assignment, I need a 2/2 minimum to go as a "native speaker". This plan has been blessed by MI branch.

I am interested in going to a SOTA and also some information on the DLPT that the vague guide from DLI doesn't cover and JLU doesn't let you know where you'd score.

If I'm going to be a support guy I want to support the best.

PM me for my official email and thank you in advance.

jbour13
08-12-2013, 13:03
One thing I would look at seriously is your family care plan and ensuring that your child is taken care of. You will deploy, you will be busy even when not deployed, you will need to be as focused on the task at hand and not have any distractions. The down time between deployments is spent on language training, fieldcraft, and red cycle taskings.

This goes for all Soldiers, but even more so Support Soldiers in SF Bn's.

I've been at it for 7 years in 1st Bn, 3rd SFG (A). I've done time as an Intel Sergeant, Sr. Intel Sergeant, Chief Intel Sergeant and MID NCOIC in my time here. I've shuffled between the Sr. and Chief positions 3 times in that 7 years. You will support, then support some more, then support some more.

You will be well placed if you can hold on to your field craft skills and make use of them if you get to Group. If you don't, you will still be value added in your MOS.

Best of luck to you, and PM me for info if you need any.

As a caveat, I cannot get you to Group. The Army will decide. Having completed Airborne, you have a better chance than most. They aren't looking to spend any more money than necessary.