PDA

View Full Version : Do NOT get out of shape.

Bracholi
03-21-2013, 02:08
The year was 2006. I was a 310 pound college geek who drank too much and cared too little. I'd wanted to join the army since I was young. I remember running around with whatever "firearms" myself and my neighbors could find playing army men. We'd chase one another around for a little while or just lay for what seemed to be hours in ambush for one of our other friends coming home from dinner with their family.

So you'd figure... If I wanted to eventually join the military, I should've never let myself get to 310 pounds right? That I'd have competed in sports, or at least participated heavily in Boy Scouts? Something right? Anything at all?

I, however, was spoiled and lazy. By the time I began the 9th grade I was already 190 pounds... by the time I graduated high school I was up to 250. In the 6 months after graduation I somehow managed a 60 pound increase in the appearance of prominence.

It took 8 months of hell, but, thanks to a very dedicated Army recruiter, and actually more-so to the Marine recruiters, I managed to break down to my 228 pound self, and passed tape (24% Body Fat). I'd finally managed to enlist!

At my leanest I made it down to 212 with a 20% tape test (I'd say bodyfat but I was closer to 14% on calipers).

This brings me to my original point... do NOT get out of shape.

I've managed to crawl my way up to 272 again... I've fluctuated down and up ten pounds in the past few years since leaving the Army. I recently determined that my injury was no excuse for failing myself when I was in. I had injured my back prior to deployment, deployed anyway, and lost my heart. within a year of returning from deployment, I was a disenchanted civilian again, with wounds some physical, though minimal, but mostly to my pride.