N3rdByrd
02-05-2012, 21:43
Nothing to see here.

mojaveman
02-05-2012, 21:48
How about Information Technology?

JJ_BPK
02-06-2012, 05:14
I plan on going to college before enlisting with 18X. I am looking for suggestions on majors that could be relevant to 18E.

I worked at a large computer manufacturing company. When I retired I was a senior systems designer. My area of expertise covered all things manufacturing.

When I interviewed candidates fresh from college, I looked for people with backgrounds in the type of manufacturing that represented my clients.

Example:

CPA's for purchasing systems,, and taught them programing
EE's for manufacturing process development and taught them programing
Civil Engineers for inventory control and taught them programing

My suggestion would to be as rounded a student as possible. The ability to preform is based on knowledge both the technical and applicability aspects of the subject area.

Get a good solid education(no basket weaving) in the math and sciences,, AND sports.

When you get to the MOS segment of the Q, you will be introduced to equipment that is not even made yet..

There will probably be Iboxes with voice controlled, GPS directed, networked, secured & integrated fire control systems, w/laser weapons guidance..

Opps,, forgot, we already have that, but it was outdated 10 minutes ago.. :D

Good luck..

"The mumblings of a FOG" :munchin

N3rdByrd
02-06-2012, 06:05
Thanks. This is very helpful

f50lrrp
02-06-2012, 11:15
I majored in ENGLISH. Bull Simons was a COMMUNICATIONS Major!

:lifter

Richard
02-06-2012, 11:46
IMO - follow your personal strengths, talents, and interests first - and then maybe something along the lines of a Major in regional studies/international relations/international business with a language requirement and overseas study/internship with an international firm/government agency combined with a Minor in a science or engineering program such as IT or Digital Engineering.