PDA

View Full Version : Interested in Joining the 20th SFG

Grasor
08-14-2011, 02:50
Hello all,

I am interested in joining the National Guard and was surprised (elated) to discover that it's possible to join directly to one of the Army's Special Forces units with no prior service.

That said, I am actually considered "Prior Service" as I enlisted in the Infantry in 2005 after graduating college. Long story shortened, I was sprinting the shuttle run during BCT/OSUT and tore my hamstring severely. This was erroneously labled a recurring knee injury and I was issued an EPTS discharge. I have a waiverable re-entry code but do not know how this affects eligibility to SF.

Fast forward several years, I am still very much interested in completing military service. I very much do not enjoy that I started something this important and did not finish it. I also think I could bring some unique talents to the table, as I have been working for a couple years for a well known defense contractor and have deployed to Iraq for a year directly supporting units on the ground. Before this deployment I was a competitive triathlete (Top 15%) and hold a Master's Degree.

I just wanted to introduce myself to the 20th SFG. I'll be CONUS in October for a few months before heading out to A-stan. I look forward to getting to know more of you and possibly meeting face-to-face sometime in the future.

Very Respectfully,
Tom

zoolander6
08-14-2011, 10:20
1. Pick the unit/state you would like to join ( you dont have to live in the same state as your unit)

2. Call them, be upfront and honest about your past, your goals, and why you wanna join. Some units dont like their guys working overseas as a civilian. So explain to them what you do as a civ or what you intend on doing. Working overseas WILL effect what unit you go to. ALTHOUGH from what ive heard it shouldnt matter.