PDA

View Full Version : Ram


Team Sergeant
09-02-2004, 13:23
I've got a Dell, 3.06 Ghz P4 HT, with 512MB PC1066 RDRAM 2X256, I'd like purchase more memory, another 512MB, who's got the best buy out there?

TS

bberkley
09-02-2004, 13:32
TS,

I've never heard of PC1066, are you sure its not PC3200?

NewEgg.com is where I got everything for the last system I built. I chose Corsair memory.

Is your PC setup for dual-channel memory, and have 2 free RAM slots?

Kingston RAM is good too, they have a memory selector here:
http://www.kingston.com/products/default.asp

Get the part no., and search for that part number at www.pricewatch.com. That should give you a good indicator at how much you should pay.

Team Sergeant
09-02-2004, 13:42
Originally posted by bberkley
TS,

I've never heard of PC1066, are you sure its not PC3200?


BB,
Yes, I'm sure it's PC1066.
Do a google search of 512MB PC1066 RDRAM and you will get a huge number of hits, I just want to know who's got the best prices.

TS

Kyobanim
09-02-2004, 13:53
Send me the service tag number off that Dell and I should be able to hook you up.

bberkley
09-02-2004, 13:57
Ok, I'm an idiot. I've stayed away from RDRAM systems because of numerous issues.

RDRAM isn't as prevalent as DDR SDRAM, best price I saw for 512MB was $244 at DIGI4ALL.COM

Price - $244
Shipping - free ground coupon code pw1001, $3 off


Samsung (System Memory) ONLINE ORDER ONLY - - 512MB PC1066 1066MHz 32ns Samsung original Rambus RDRAM RIMM memory 184pin NonECC
Details:
-Lifetime Warranty needs to be installed in pairs
Part - PC1066/512MB/SAM

Team Sergeant
09-02-2004, 14:07
"Samsung (System Memory) ONLINE ORDER ONLY - - 512MB PC1066 1066MHz 32ns Samsung original Rambus RDRAM RIMM memory 184pin NonECC"


This is what I've also found, all the prices are around $250 for 512MB.

CPTAUSRET
09-02-2004, 14:37
Originally posted by Kyobanim
Send me the service tag number off that Dell and I should be able to hook you up.

Kyobanim:

Do you work for Dell, as in spare time?

Terry

The Reaper
09-02-2004, 14:43
Originally posted by Team Sergeant
I've got a Dell, 3.06 Ghz P4 HT, with 512MB PC1066 RDRAM 2X256, I'd like purchase more memory, another 512MB, who's got the best buy out there?

TS

Go here and price it out.

http://www.pricewatch.com/

Prices change fast.

Current best price appears to be $234 delivered.

Good luck.

TR

Kyobanim
09-02-2004, 14:51
I bet I can beat all those prices.

Capt. - I'm a Certified Dell Systems engineer. At least that's what they say. The school I work for uses all Dell products so they certified me.

bberkley
09-02-2004, 15:01
Thread drift....

Kyobanim, I used to swear by Dells until I got to my current place of employment. We have some systems that are P3 EB-class processors, but using PC100 RAM, that is proprietary to the system, as well as the power supplies. I've had good luck with their laptops, but I purchase clone systems now from a local vendor where I get to specify everything, which suits my anal-retentiveness just fine. :)

Back to the topic....

TS, the spec for the RDRAM I read on Newegg.com specified that they have to be used in pairs, so do you want to add 1GB or only 512MB (so your total system memory is 1GB)?

Team Sergeant
09-02-2004, 15:11
Originally posted by bberkley

TS, the spec for the RDRAM I read on Newegg.com specified that they have to be used in pairs, so do you want to add 1GB or only 512MB (so your total system memory is 1GB)?


I already have 512MB and would like to make the jump to hyper space and install another 512MB.

I've currently have about 45 processes running at any given moment and we all know what happens when we have multiple IE web-pages open at the same time. I'm thinking another 512MB of ram will aid me in dimming the lights of Phoenix.

Kyobanim
09-02-2004, 15:14
That stuff is expensive because of the 533 FSB on that board.

TS has a system that will put a Team Sergeant stare on any application it runs across. :lifter

bberkley
09-02-2004, 15:34
I have 1.5GB of RAM in my box at home, and a pair of the 10k RPM WD Raptor SATA drives. 3Ghz P4 with HT, and a Nvidia Geforce FX 5950 Ultra 256mb video card. The box is fast, really fast.

Kyobanim
09-02-2004, 15:39
I'm going to take a guess and say there's some gaming going on with these PCs.

bberkley
09-02-2004, 16:20
Originally posted by Kyobanim
I'm going to take a guess and say there's some gaming going on with these PCs.

A little, Half-Life 2 comes out soon, and Doom 3 is just flawless. :D:D:D

I built it to be a dev environment for video capture, photoshop, sourcesafe, and Virtual PC. A couple of virtual systems running will bring it to its knees though.