PDA

View Full Version : Another GSW scenario

zeromedic
03-16-2011, 10:58
Hey everybody, it's been a while since I've seen a scenario so I figured I'd put up a call I was on a while back. At the time I was an EMT-B (3 years), since then have gone on to EMT-P (2 years in 911 system), now EMT-I as a Deputy Sheriff/SWAT Medic.

Treat it as if it's presenting to you, whatever your level of training/current assignment is...I'm presenting it in civilian EMS.

Call comes out of a subject in a van with a GSW to the face. You are staging around the corner when your dispatch updates you that SO is saying it is safe to come in. You park your rig near the van as the Fire Dept. pulls in behind you, grab your gear and approach it. Looking in the window you see an approximately 40 y/o male in the front passenger seat slumped against the passenger side front window missing the lower half of his face. Copious amounts of blood coming from that area and you are clearly able to see air bubbling from where his mouth used to be. He has visible stippling on the skin around the very large wound, pale skin, and visible but slight rise and fall of chest. No other signs of injury but there is too much blood covering the front of his body to be sure. **A shotgun is visible on the driver's seat** As you are opening the door to access the pt, two SO Deputies start yelling at you to grab him and GTFO as they have located the suspect hiding in a nearby vehicle...how would you treat? What are your priorities? Trauma center was approximately five miles away for us...what if it wasn't?

11Ber
03-16-2011, 12:58