PDA

View Full Version : Tracking Handheld GPS

Barn Owl
09-01-2010, 18:37
Gentlemen,

Have been considering the purchase of a 60 series Garmin for a while, due to the reciever's ability to read a signal inside an armored vehicle or a building, and the worldwide topo map.

Before dropping the cash, is it possible for our enemies to track GPS recievers? Does the power of the reciever affect enemy ability to locate a handheld GPS? If GPS does indeed produce a signature, can the sig be minimized?

My common sense tells me no, handhelds do not produce signature, since the reciever is capturing an incoming signal, but I am the first to admit I have no real knowledge or experience in these matters.

Please reply by PM if your answer contains specific GPS / enemy capabilities.

Very Respectfully,

Barn Owl

albeham
09-01-2010, 20:52
Barn Owl, nice,

Give me a day to really look at this. Everything that has power going though it will give some type of signal or RF a signature, off it, but the question is how strong is it for some type of spectrum analyzer to see it .

Dealing with EMC/EMI issues , I would feel it would be too low in the noise floor to really be seen. But then again, I have a 50 lbs brain, the 100 lbs brains at work might have a different view.

Too add to this, when you hit the ground , this will be the least of your worries.

Ambush Master
09-01-2010, 21:21
Did you catch this exchange today?!?!

http://www.professionalsoldiers.com/forums/showthread.php?p=346599#post346599

Your question is an interesting one!!

Barn Owl
09-02-2010, 12:30
Ambush Master,

No, I didn't, thanks for the info. Confirms all the good things I have been hearing about the new Garmins.

Albeham,

Thanks for checking. You're absolutely right, it's low on the worry list. I heard a rumor about tracking handhelds and I am really curious if it's even possible.