PDA

View Full Version : I want electronic ear protection.

PriestFoxley
03-12-2010, 19:31
I got my first set of electronic earpro a few months back, and I love them. they flipflop from my range bag to my assault pack on a regular basis, but I started learning things from hard use.

Mine are cheap ($70) impact sport earmuffs that sorta/kinda fit under the current issue ACH, but there is a bit of a tight fit. Any time I go to a sporting goods store I look like an idiot for carrying an ACH in to test fit, and I never find a good set anyway.

See, my set has an auto-shut off feature after four hours, and I know I can find a set that works a bit better.

I am regular army, so swapping out the ACH for a better helmet is out of the question. I already ditched the bullshit harness for one of those Ops-core sets. (I am left handed, so trying to get a cheek weld past that buckle was a pain.)

I am not worried about price. getting the right stuff means not bitching about how much it costs, so if you guys could point me in the direction of a good set of combat electronic ear pro, I would be really grateful.

koz
03-12-2010, 20:41
For a lower cost set - Peltor Tac6 (http://www.cabelas.com/cabelas/en/templates/links/link.jsp;jsessionid=43BE3KOSIVARNLAQBBJCCO3MCAEFGI WE?id=0006334221904a&type=product&cmCat=froogle&cm_ven=data_feed&cm_cat=froogle&cm_pla=1240605&cm_ite=0006334221904a&_requestid=156894). I've had great luck with a set of Peltor Comtac's (http://www.amazon.com/Peltor-MT15H69FB-09-Com-Tac-II-Headset/dp/B0014ZYYKW). MSA Sordin makes some good muffs as well - but I've never used them.

Peregrino
03-12-2010, 20:59
I've got the Sordins - nice - and expensive too. Check with Grey Group; they'll hook you up.

The Reaper
03-12-2010, 21:04
Sordins from TCI.

You might use the Search button and find out more.

TR

jatx
03-13-2010, 08:45
Sordins are great...if you get some, look into the replacement ear gels. They make a big difference once you've had them on all day.