PDA

View Full Version : Question on zeroing a 1022

EX-Gold Falcon
01-17-2010, 12:04
I've just picked up a ruger 1022 18 inch barrel with a Tasco ProPoint sight. I was planning to go out this afternoon and zero in the sight, so my question is whether it makes any difference to zero it in at 25 or 50 meters. I do not have a lot of experience with the 1022, or rimfire for that matter, always tended to stick with centerfire, but the price was right for this Ruger.

Thanks

Travis

HowardCohodas
01-17-2010, 12:16
I'm not a hunter, but as a CCW instructor I am still asked about related subjects, so I came across this reference about zeroing to pass on to my students. How to properly sight in a rifle. (http://www.gunnersden.com/index.htm.sightin.html) There is commentary specifically addressing rim-fire.

mojaveman
01-17-2010, 13:03
With a .22 rimfire I like a 50 meter zero. Will you be using the same type of ammo all of the time? Different velocities are going to affect your zero. With a 100 meter zero you are going to be shooting a few inches high at the shorter ranges. If you're just going to plink it doesn't matter that much.

The Ruger 10/22 is a nice little rifle by the way, they are reliable and you can buy a zillion accessories for them. In that caliber it is a very good choice for a survival weapon.

Buck
01-17-2010, 13:22
I've just picked up a ruger 1022 18 inch barrel with a Tasco ProPoint sight. I was planning to go out this afternoon and zero in the sight, so my question is whether it makes any difference to zero it in at 25 or 50 meters. I do not have a lot of experience with the 1022, or rimfire for that matter, always tended to stick with centerfire, but the price was right for this Ruger.

Thanks

Travis

Ex-Gold,