PDA

View Full Version : GSW "first responder" guidance

HowardCohodas
07-21-2009, 15:04
As an instructor, I thought it prudent to get some first responder training. I am taking a First Medical Responder course. GSW was not covered to my satisfaction in spite of the fact that all my classmates are LEOs.

I have also read the material from the TCCC (Tactical Combat Casualty Care) curriculum.

One example that stands out is the difference in recommended use of a tourniquet. Wartime has always been the initiator of dramatic changes in technologies and protocol especially with respect to first responder care.

What should a firearms instructor know and what is best first responder practice in tending to a GSW. Is there a good commercial kit that anyone would recommend for me to carry?

Thanks in advance for your help.

HowardCohodas
07-21-2009, 15:42
I just came across this link. :o Dr. Sydney Vail: Personal Emergency Medical Pack (http://www.policeone.com/training/videos/1813046-Dr-Sydney-Vail-Personal-Emergency-Medical-Pack/)

Red Flag 1
07-21-2009, 17:45
I just came across this link. :o Dr. Sydney Vail: Personal Emergency Medical Pack (http://www.policeone.com/training/videos/1813046-Dr-Sydney-Vail-Personal-Emergency-Medical-Pack/)

And your search on this site............?:lifter

RF 1

Richard
07-21-2009, 17:59
Go to the SEARCH button (between the CALENDAR and FAQ buttons at the top of the screen), type in GSW, left click on the Show Posts bubble and GO button - and see what links appear. Remember - the SEARCH function is one of your best friends on this web-site. ;)

Good luck.

Richard's $.02 :munchin

HowardCohodas
07-21-2009, 18:22
Boys, I'm just a guest here so I'll avoid disrespectful retorts.