PDA

View Full Version : Wannabe Physician...

Fizzle
05-24-2009, 22:08
Well I'm a high school student who has had his sights set on the medical side of the military for quite a while now. I'm doing very well in High School and will be taking almost all AP and Honors courses next year. I wrestle and I consider myself in pretty good physical shape (need to work on running a bit). I've admired the whole Special Ops and especially the 18D medical side of the house but I think I would have a more enjoyable career being a PA or Physician. I know there's a couple of routes to get there... the HPSP and USUHS.

Which would be a better (and cheaper being that my family isn't made out of money lol) route to take to become a doctor. I come on this board asking this because I know there's a lot of guys that have dealt and know about military medicine. I've heard and read many positive and negative things about it. I'm a military brat and have no problem whatsoever with the military lifestyle of moving around and getting deployed (maybe I will when I have kids but I still got plenty of time before that). How does the military determine what sub-skill you get e.g. trauma surgeon, neurosurgeon, dentist, etc

I searched and didn't find any threads answering exact questions I had in mind so I decided to go ahead and post a thread on it hoping other peoplez my age had the same questions.

*braces self*

Whoops, just found out I posted this in the wrong sub forum. I meant to put this in the General Medical forum.

Doczilla
05-25-2009, 01:47