PDA

View Full Version : 5.56 fired through short barrels

Box
05-04-2009, 20:45
I need some good information on shooting 5.56 through short barreled guns...

-What effect does the short barreled SAW have on the efficiency of the 5.56 ammo?
-Is there any ballistic (or any other "real" benefit) benefit over using 5.56 ammo in guns with a ten inch barrel ?
-Is there documented results as opposed to "I like the short barrels because... "

I suspect that there is little or no real benefit over the carbine barrel except for the fact that it allows some guys to look cool and feel good about their image, but I am not a ballistics expert, I am just a bit curious of this new found fascination with short barrels by new guys. I can only find info that supports a decrease in effectiveness with short barrels using military grade ammo.

Keep in mind I am only interested in milspec weaponry using standard issue 'green tip' ammo, not custom grade barrels made with different rifling twist and specialty or non-standard ammo.

Somebody smart please square me away so I can be smart also.

The Reaper
05-04-2009, 21:15
PM sent, Billy.

TR

Box
05-04-2009, 21:23
Many thanks sir.
That helps a ton.

18C4V
05-05-2009, 00:05
PM sent, Billy.

TR

Sir,
Can you send me that info too?

The Reaper
05-05-2009, 07:55
This has been discussed here and elsewhere. Let me hit the highlights and provide an executive summary.

Like many things in life, it is a compromise. Shorter barrels equal lower muzzle velocity, period. Lower muzzle velocity, for the 5.56, is a bad thing. It seriously affects lethality, and makes shot placement harder due to increased bullet drop.

M855 ammo exacerbates this problem. It is slower, less effective, shorter range, and less accurate than the M193 it replaced. The Mk 262 is a better choice for most purposes, if you can get it, and it is much more accurate than the M855 or the M193, for that matter.