PDA

View Full Version : Mike Rowe on Work, Plain and Simple

Razor
03-30-2009, 10:51
Some very interesting observations on work, epiphany and the importance of the trades:

http://www.ted.com/index.php/talks/mike_rowe_celebrates_dirty_jobs.html

MeC86
03-30-2009, 11:20
I listened to this a couple weeks ago. Very interesting to hear his perspective on work and its change throughout the years. Especially since he has had the unique experience of doing a lot of the jobs most people wouldn't dare give a chance.

Great Post.

sapper
03-30-2009, 20:49
I often dont grow too fond of TV folk....Mike seems to be a down to earth guy.

I looked around a little and found this one

http://www.ted.com/index.php/talks/john_wooden_on_the_difference_between_winning_and_ success.html

The Coach, what more can I say. I very much liked the story of the umpire with one 'I'.

aegisnavy
03-30-2009, 21:44
I've been in the construction industry for over 14 years now. Yeah, I'm an engineer, but I owe the largest measure of my success to getting out in the field with the people who actually build what I dream up, and learning what works and what doesn't. What I've noticed over this short time span, is that every year, there are less and less people willing to do the complicated, difficult, and sometimes dirty work. The pool of true tradesmen/craftsmen is drying up. The twin capabilities of intelligence and a hard work ethic is becoming a rarity. Maybe that's why I admire the QP's so much. They have the inherent qualities that appear to be dwindling in general society, at least from my POV.

Thanks for the post, it made my day :)

Guy
03-30-2009, 22:40