PDA

View Full Version : .38 Super Auto +P

swpa19
03-19-2009, 14:29
Ive mentioned before that I at one time was an enthusiastic cartridge collector. I'm in the process of purging my collection and sending "The good stuff" to a friend of mine in Colorado, who collects military memorabalia.

I came across this round, and naturally had to research it. The ballistics on the .38 Super Auto +P is impressive. I understand that at one time the Colt Governmen Model 1911 was chambered for this round.

Question is, have any of you fired this round to any extent. And, what is your impression of it, say in comparison to the 9mm and perhaps the 357 Sig?

HOLLiS
03-19-2009, 14:42
I believe Colt still chambers a 1911 in 38 super. I have a Colt combat commander elite in that caliber, I like it.

9mm = normal

38 super = magnum

357 Sig = ultra mag.

All three uses .356 bullet (9mm).

It is also popular down in Old Mexico.

It was used in competitions for a while. Just never became a standard issued round and probably why it never got popular.

The Corps used them. Unfortunately I haven't thought about it for some time, so I don't remember much, on why and what happened.

The Reaper
03-19-2009, 14:45
More potent than the 9x19, and providing more mag capacity than the .357 SIG, it is, unfortunately, a semi-rimmed design and can be finnicky about feeding.

The case strength is marginal for the pressures required to make Major, so it had a nasty rep for blowing cases in the unsupported area of the feed ramp of the barrel, leading to an injury commonly referred to as "Super Face".

IIRC, it was designed to provide a more potent semi-auto version of the .38, and one that would not invoke the prohibition on military caliber cartridges popular in Europe and Latin American markets. It has been quite popular down South.

When properly loaded and in a weapon designed for it, it is a decent round. Not sure I would want any +Ps to shoot in it.

Yours appears to be a Winchester Silver-Tip.