PDA

View Full Version : Clinical Scenarios

MedEngr
08-26-2008, 22:42
Hello,
I found this site a few days ago and immediately became excited and have been reading posts for three days. I want to do a quick introduction of myself before I ask my question. I am an engineer by education and a Certified Clinical Engineer. For those who don't know what that is I am a Biomedical and Mechanical Engineer who has specialized in designing, understanding, implementing and manging clinical technology in the clinical enviroment. I am very interested in how technology impacts the system (for better or worse). The system is everything from the enviroment, the clinicians, the patient, medical devices, supplies. A little over a year ago I founded a medical device company focusing on developing technologies which provide process management, closed loop control, safety interlocks, and device/equipment integration. Our initial product is focusing in the ICU (product launch next July), but we are beginning to research other enviroments including trauma and battlefield medicine.

I have been reading and analyzing the case studies posted on here in every moment of free time I've had over the past few days. The question I have for the post is where in your day to day activities could integrated technology improve your efficiency, patient safety?

By asking for examples of connectivity that could a) solve current clinical problems, b) improve safety or efficiency, or c) enable innovative clinical systems of the future, is the initial step in developing systems which meet the end users needs and decreasing the amount of steps required to complete the task. Assume that there are no technical, economic, legal, or regulatory obstacles to deploying a comprehensive system.

An example of a scenario is: