PDA

View Full Version : Working out while calorically restricted

uscav_scout
08-22-2008, 20:30
I wasn't sure whether to post this here, or in the PT / H2H forum, I decided to post it here because I wanted more of a medically oriented response (18Ds, PAs, and MDs (although any response will be gladly appreciated, for I am a green horn and want to learn)), Mods do as you see fit.

I am going to try and paint a complete yet concise picture, as to facilitate with responses.

I have been working myself pretty hard for the past six months or so, in preparation for a deployment to Afghanistan and eventually selection. One thing that I have began incorporating in to my workout cycles prior to a good recovery week, was a week of "tempering" as I like to call it.

"Tempering" is when I cut my caloric intake to my Basal Metabolic Rate(BMR) on day one, for me that is about 1900 calories (5'10", 170, 21 years, male), I gradually reduce my caloric intake on each of these days by about 100 calories, so by day seven, I am consuming 1200 calories.

During these days, most of my calories come from protein (whey, fish, or lunch meat), and the carbs I do get come from a few slices of whole wheat bread that is I swear is a close relative to sandpaper, never more than 600 to 800 calories. I do my best to eat a bag of leafy greens, usually spinach every day, light on the calories, high in nutrients.