PDA

View Full Version : Implantable Contact Lenses

DTH350
07-08-2008, 14:01
Good Afternoon,

I am a third-year law student with absolutely no medical expertise. I am interested to hear from those with such expertise on the topic of a new eye procedure called Implantable Contact Lenses (ICL).
I went to the eye-doc for a consultation on Lasik or PRK. He told me my corneas were too thin for the Lasik or PRK procedure but that ICL would be the optimal choice.
My internet research, along with my eye-doc, says the benefits are better visual acuity than with Lasik or PRK, the procedure is reversible if needed, and chances for dislodgment of the lens are slim-to-none.
The only negative to the procedure seems to be an increased risk of developing cataracts in the later years.
My doc says the military has approved the procedure. Of course, that does not necessarily mean that it applies to SF. It is my understanding that the regs on corrective eye surgery are constantly changing and that waivers are granted on a case by case basis. The most recent regs I found were current as of January 2008, which did not mention ICL.
My recruiter said some new regs recently came out (last week) - He is in the process of checking out the ICL matter.
While he does that, in the mean time, I am interested to learn any information, concerns, or rumors regarding the procedure and its physical effects (good and bad).
If the recruiter comes back with a thumbs-up, then I will probably opt for the surgery, assuming no one replies with concerning information or horror stories about the procedure.

Many Thanks -- DTH

Red Flag 1
07-08-2008, 16:42
if it worth saying, it will be quoted.

SF_BHT
07-08-2008, 17:11
So you are looking for something other that glasses or "non-implantable" contact lenses. I am not an eye doc. I am not familiar with regs re: implantable contact lenses; so I am a little out of my lane here. That having been said, I would wonder why invasive correction is a goal in this case?