PDA

View Full Version : Motorcycle Advice

Kyobanim
05-09-2008, 16:50
I've been looking into getting a bike for several years. Now that gas is costing me over 150 a month just to get to work, I think the time is here. I haven't ridden in over 35 years so I'm looking for something simple. I found a bike by Buell called the blast. http://www.buell.com/en_us/bikes/blast/blast/features.asp. Price is right as well as economy, etc.

Does anyone have any experience with this one or have any suggestions?

lksteve
05-09-2008, 17:32
Does anyone have any experience with this one or have any suggestions?My opinion is that you will outgrow a Blast pretty soon...500cc isn't that much motor...on the upside, a Blast gets something north of 70mpg...I'm thinking a Blast would be good for a new rider, especially a small woman or man...I'm 5'8" and 160ish and feel a bit cramped on one...

What did you ride before the hiatus...? A Jap bike, a Brit bike...? When I started riding again, after not quite as long a break as you, I got a Sportster because it was most like what I was used to riding (15-20 year old muscle memory still counts for something)...

Buells are good bikes...I might opt for a XB9...a little more engine, a little more versatile (more highway friendly) and probably a little better resale...

You might ask on the SFMC website, too...heck, you may encounter someone who has a used bike for sale..

My $0.02...

Kyobanim
05-09-2008, 17:54
Last bike was Suzuki 250, 1968 vintage.

I'm 5'7" 140 lbs wet. I think I started looking at this because it's similar in profile and physical size.

lksteve
05-09-2008, 17:56
Last bike was Suzuki 250, 1968 vintage.

I'm 5'7" 140 lbs wet. I think I started looking at this because it's similar in profile and physical size.That being the case, you are probably on the right track...I know the Blast is very reasonable, and 70 mpg is pretty hard to snort at with gas north of $4/gallon...the Blast will be a lot more powerful than a '68 Suzuki...