PDA

View Full Version : Rangers going to an 18x type program??

AngelsSix
05-01-2008, 22:21
I heard some little punk talking all this junk about how he was going to join the Army and be a bad ass. This is after he said that he used to do drugs and was clean now for two months (not believing that garbage). At any rate, what got my attention is that he told me the Army is letting kids go straight from boot to AIT to Ranger school. Any truth to this?? If it had come from someone else I might have believed it......maybe.

the squid
05-02-2008, 04:23
I'm no expert, so take this for what it's worth, but it's highly likely that if he's got an Option 40 contract, the stupid kid is either A) lying to his friends about RS or B) a civilian confusing the difference between RIP (where he would be going to get into the 75th) and Ranger School (where he'd eventually go to get tabbed).

sleepyhead4
05-02-2008, 23:45
At least few years ago you had to be E4 and above to go to Ranger School from a regular army unit and E3 and above from the 75th RGT. Of course you also had to get the blessing from your chain of command and the schools NCO to get a slot...so I highly doubt a cherry straight out of AIT will get a shot at Ranger School.

kgoerz
05-03-2008, 05:19
I heard some little punk talking all this junk about how he was going to join the Army and be a bad ass. This is after he said that he used to do drugs and was clean now for two months (not believing that garbage). At any rate, what got my attention is that he told me the Army is letting kids go straight from boot to AIT to Ranger school. Any truth to this?? If it had come from someone else I might have believed it......maybe.

You should of told him. People are born Bad Asses. No school or training can make anyone a Bad ass. If Chuck Norris worked at Walmart his whole life...........still a Bad Ass:D

Kyobanim
05-03-2008, 05:25