PDA

View Full Version : MACV-SOG Roll Call

Roguish Lawyer
05-14-2004, 17:05
I am a Viet Nam history buff, and it has been a real pleasure being able to bounce periodic questions off of BMT, Ambush Master and QRQ 30. I am curious who served in MACV-SOG, where they served, what teams or other units they were in, and -- of course -- any stories they are willing to tell!

So this is the SOG Roll Call thread. Anything any of you are willing to post would be great. And whether you post or not, thank you for your extraordinary service to our country. I and many others are deeply grateful.

Ambush Master
05-14-2004, 17:20
RL, I'll open it.

I ran on RT New York out of CCC in Kontum. I was there 1970/71 timeframe while John Plaster was flying Covey and Bob Howard was the Recon Company CO. My 60mm story and the Brightlight AAR in the Briefback Forum were from that period. The Brightlight AAR happened while I was a student at the MACVSOG Recon Teamleaders School therefore called One Zero School. That school was mandatory before you would be allowed to run Cross-Border Operations. They wanted all of the Americans on the team to be able to take the team over if need be. After you read Plaster's Books, you can see why.

Take care.
Martin

Roguish Lawyer
05-20-2004, 11:16
Thanks, Martin. Looks like others don't want to play. Oh, well.

If it helps, I'm not going to be PMing those who respond every five minutes with annoying, stupid questions. :)

Smokin Joe
05-20-2004, 12:06
Originally posted by Ambush Master
RL, I'll open it.