PDA

View Full Version : Old School Edges

Bill Harsey
10-12-2007, 19:43
Here is some real old school tech done here by me. I'm not very good at this but I've found it very interesting to try.
My respect for those who's lives depended on this craft goes up everyday.

Pete S
10-12-2007, 20:49
Stone tools are very interesting. I read an article last week about obsidian tools used for modern surgeries.

Obsidian is used in cardiac surgery, as well-crafted obsidian blades have a cutting edge many times sharper than high-quality steel surgical scalpels, with the edge of the blade being only about 3 nm wide . Even the sharpest metal knife has a jagged, irregular blade when viewed under a strong enough microscope. When examined under an electron microscope an obsidian blade is still smooth and even. One study found that obsidian produced narrower scars, fewer inflammatory cells, and less granulation tissue in a group of rats.

HOLLiS
10-12-2007, 23:34
Bill they look very good. There has been sort of a resurgence in knapping. I thought of trying it, read book, bought some chards, all I'll say, is now I can laugh at the attemp.

Thanks for the photos.

I have some old flints that was recovered from a ship wreck in 1802 in the Irish channel.

Roguish Lawyer
10-13-2007, 08:16
Stone or glass? Was this a drunken experiment on used beer bottles? :munchin

Bill Harsey
10-13-2007, 09:05
RL,
The small "micro blade" is from Oregon obsidian.
Yes, the round and crescent blade are from the bottom of a beer bottle.
The crescent blade shape is known to the Great basin region.

To be able to produce a "chip", a lot of pressure is placed against the knapping tool with finger tips and knuckles heading straight into the edge when the chip releases. No alcohol is involved when doing this or regular knifemaking around here, too much at risk.

Pete S,
I'm familar with the use of minerals for surgical blades.