PDA

View Full Version : Civilian car crash

Martin
04-24-2004, 18:04
This was sent as a PM to Surgicalcric. He told me to post it here. Note addition of question at the end of my PM, regarding artery.

Surgicalcric: your reluctance for M2M, is it because of decease?

Muchas gracias!

Martin to Surgicalcric:
Casualty priority

I don't want to upset anyone, so I'll PM you in an effort to keep it low profile. This is a civilian scenario. I hope you don't mind, and will accept my apology otherwise.

It is my understanding that those in the most critical conditions should be given higher priorities. I have little knowledge and would, if needed, like to put it to the best use. So, the question is, how would one act in the scenario below? (which I choose because I think it seems likely and covers the little I can do)

Example situation:
You're alone in a motorized vehicle, any type, with only some bandages, material for wound cleaning, a knife and duct tape. Your knowledge does not extend far further than ABC (I think you use that term too; for control of and help for breathing, pulse and chock), bandaging and basic stabilization (broken legs, you don't know about hips).

You're travelling on a low traffic interstate, with nobody else but the two vehicles ahead of you.
200 meters to your front vehicle A makes a right turn onto a smaller road. Vehicle B is driving towards the interstate from that road. Vehicle A hits vehicle B in the side, slightly in front of the driver's door.

You stop and find that:
There are cracks at vehicle As driver's side wind shield.
Vehicle B is deformed inwards at the place where the driver's door connects to the body of the car. The car door is torn open.
Person A (driver) in vehicle A has pulse, but does not breathe.
Person B (front seat passsenger) in vehicle A is unconcious, but breathes and has pulse, he does not seem to have acquired body damage.