PDA

View Full Version : Supplements

Shans84
02-03-2007, 00:35
I go to the gym religiously and I was wondering are there any supplements I should be staying away from ?

Jack Moroney (RIP)
02-03-2007, 06:13
All of them. Eat a balanced diet, stay hydrated, and follow a good routine.

Sacamuelas
02-03-2007, 07:31
Shans84-
There are a few threads that discuss supplements and use of such aids by aspiring SF Soldiers on this site. Use your search button and spend a little time. Good Luck

Defender968
02-03-2007, 15:06
I go to the gym religiously and I was wondering are there any supplements I should be staying away from ?

I'm by no means a doctor, and there are plenty of folks who are more qualified to answer specific questions, but what I’ll tell you is I've had 7 different troops have to go to the hospital for supplement related issues in the past 6 months of my current deployment alone. You should definitely check with a health care professional before taking anything. I agree with Col Moroney that you can get the same results from a well balanced diet, talk to a dietitian/nutritionist, they can help you achieve a properly balanced diet that will help your training regiment. Something as simple as protein can have serious negative side effects. For example, I had a troop who was working out very hard and taking protein, not crazy amounts just as recommended by the product directions. He went to the doc after nearly passing out, it turned out his body couldn't handle all the protein and it was causing kidney problems. They made him stop taking it entirely, had he not stopped the docs said he could have done serious irreparable damage to his kidneys. I’ve had 6 others who have had various problems with various supplements two of which could have had serious and long lasting negative side effects, to me your overall health is not worth the risks, especially when you can get the same results with the proper diet, but that’s just my .02

The Reaper
02-03-2007, 15:26