PDA

View Full Version : Pellet Rifle?

Bill Harsey
04-11-2004, 17:36
I know of two calibers in pellet rifles, .177 and .22. Which one would work better for light pest control out to over 100 ft.? I have no experience with the larger caliber in pellet.

The Reaper
04-11-2004, 17:48
IMHO, the .177 is the way to go.

The .177 is normally the caliber of the competition air rifles, and seems to be more universally available, as far as I know.

I suspect that the rifle would be more significant for pest control than the caliber.

What rifle are you using? Have you considered a .22 rimfire rifle with low velocity loads, like the BB Caps, CB Longs, or Aguila?

TR

Ambush Master
04-11-2004, 18:16
The Aguila is more lethal and quieter than a Pellet Rifle. I've shot coons out of a tree with kids standing at the School Bus Stop not 30 meters from me and they hadn't a clue. That was with Winchester CB Caps, but the Aguila Colibri or an equivalent Zero Propellant round will work just fine.

Take Care.
Martin

Bill Harsey
04-11-2004, 18:38
Originally posted by Ambush Master
The Aguila is more lethal and quieter than a Pellet Rifle. I've shot coons out of a tree with kids standing at the School Bus Stop not 30 meters from me and they hadn't a clue. That was with Winchester CB Caps, but the Aguila Colibri or an equivalent Zero Propellant round will work just fine.

Take Care.
Martin I've never heard of the Aguila. Will do homework. Yes i've been considering a new .22 rifle too.

Air.177
04-12-2004, 11:09
You may want to check out Benjamin Sheridan pellet rifles in .20 caliber. Both AM and myself have shot enough small critters with this caliber to fill an average size house. It offers a higher velocity than .22, and a heavier bullet than a .177

Bill Harsey
04-12-2004, 18:07
will check out. Thanks! I was thinking of building an air rifle like Lewis and Clark carried. Any history buffs know about that?

SwedeGlocker
04-13-2004, 08:40