PDA

View Full Version : Random Noise?!?!?!

Ambush Master
12-31-2006, 10:08
I have recently noticed that my computer has a Random Bass Beat that occurs in spasms!! It's almost like something is rolling around the circuit boards. It also seems to be slowing the machine down when it is occurring.

I have run virus scans and spy-ware stuff, but this thing keeps on thumping.

I'd appreciate any ideas!!

Many Thanks.
Martin

pegasus
12-31-2006, 10:18
Could be your hard drive and it could be one bad sector.

Suggest doing backups first.

I am not a Windows expert (other OS's), but I know there has to be a disk check tool somewhere in the utilities to check I/O. It should perform a read-only test across all sectors. I'm sure others will come along with the disk-utlity tools available for windows.

jasonglh
12-31-2006, 10:19
The only real moving parts are the drives spinning and the fan inside. Unless you have a wayward critter trapped in there? :eek:

Usually when my hard drives have started going on I would describe the noise as a click click click with some sort of rhythm to it.

My local shop has a $35 flat rate to check one out.

Hope that helps some.

Ambush Master
12-31-2006, 10:36
The sound is Audio comming from the Speakers, not from within the Case.

pegasus
12-31-2006, 11:05
Only other thing I can suggest is to try starting task monitor before the next spasm occurs. Keep it on the processes tab and check the CPU/memory utilization. Might suggest where to look next.

HD's make all kinds of noises when failing and they can generate quite a bit of vibration on the motherboard.

jasonglh
12-31-2006, 11:33
The sound is Audio coming from the Speakers, not from within the Case.