PDA

View Full Version : Advice about EOTech's

Hipshot
12-25-2006, 19:12
My son's about to deploy back to Iraq for his 2nd tour. He pulled his first with 3rd ID last year and is about to go back with 2/325th from the 82nd. I'm thinking about getting him an EOTech for his M4, but am not really sure which model to get him - the version that uses the AA batteries or the Lithium version. I'm an old 11B4S who hasn't kept up with the small arms world. Any advice would be appreciated.

Peregrino
12-25-2006, 19:19
Get the 553. It was designed with military input and has features the previous versions lack. The best part is it uses the same 123 batteries as the SureFire weapons lights. The major advantages are shorter OAL and 1000 hrs run time (almost twice what the AAs will give). It's a bit more expensive (o/a $500) but well worth it IMHO. I've been using a 552 for several years and prefer the EOTechs over the Aimpoints. The bad news - as has been pointed out elsewhere on this board it does not have magnification, a distinct disadvantage for EOTechs/Aimpoints when it comes to longer range target ID/engagement. (Part of the reason my Christmas included a Trijicon TA31F.) FWIW - Peregrino

Warrior-Mentor
12-25-2006, 21:00
I like my AA operated...for the simplicity of not having to worry about a limited resupply...can find them just about anywhere...

The Reaper
12-25-2006, 22:34
Another vote for the EOTech 553 with the 123 lithium battery.

If you can find one, get the LaRue mount for it as well.

TR

Peregrino
12-26-2006, 08:54